Letters to Aunt Annie, 1

I have just decided to write letters for Luna as she wishes to correspond with her favorite Auntie. I’m not sure how many there will be, but they will be numbered so that you won’t lose track. (just in case she wants to write other posts in amongst the letters.)

To my Dearest, most favorite, Aunt Annie,

I am very sorry that it has taken me so long to write this letter to you. And by writing, I do mean dictating this letter to Mum for transcription. I have taken necessary steps to ensure that she, Mum, will be unable to remember the details of this letter and that, in fact, she will not remember anything. Please excuse me while I go hunting. I will return as soon as I am able.

…….

I’m sorry that it took me so long to get back to you. I had finished my hunt, (no luck in bagging a kill.) and I was so tired that I just had to go and have a rather longish nap. 😉

Now, on to other daily occurrences. Life here on the West Coast in general and the island, in particular, is quite relaxing. The weather is nice, now that we are heading into the summer months. I sleep quite a lot in general but when I am awake, mum is hard pressed to keep up with me. Especially if I’m hunting flying critters. She does keep up most admirably when I hunt creepy-crawlies as they are considerably slower in general, but not so tasty as the flying kind. But those make for the most challenging. The creepy-crawlies are the ones that are harder to detect because their speed allows them to stop on a dime and remain undetectable. . . . Unless they are framed by a different color background. So there are good points as well as bad ones with hunting in general. I do enjoy the hunt anyway, it keeps me in fine form, especially when I’m after the flying critters.

. . . . . . . .

Sorry again, I just woke from another nap. Mum gave me a pinch of catnip, or as she lovingly refers to it, “Nip”. She does like to brag to all her friends that she is my “dealer” and nothing but the best for her little girl. Haha, I’m not so much of a little girl any longer. I am coming closer to my second birthday and that means that I am an adult puss and not a girl any longer.

There is something that I feel the need to confess to you at this time, dearest Aunt Annie. I must swear you to secrecy. If this information got out to my public, then I’d be ruined as a cat. But I do feel the need to get it off my chest. By confiding in you, this little tidbit of information, I feel that I can rest easier. I need to admit to the fact that sometimes, mind not always, I will come when Mum whistles. She’ll usually do it about bedtime when she calls for me in this manner as she wants to see if I am coming to bed with her. She so loves our snuggle times. And, I admit that I too love the snuggles. But the whistling and answering by running to her whistle is not a cat thing. I feel a little better for having admitted this to you. But the dogs that live upstairs would have a field day if they found out.

Oops, it looks like it’s time for another hunt so I shall close out this letter and will write again, as soon as I am able. Best wishes to you, favorite Aunt, and please give my loving regards to my favorite cousin.

I remain,

Lovingly yours,  Luna

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Letters to Aunt Annie, 1

Leave a Reply

